Esato

Forum > Sony Ericsson / Sony > Android > Sony Xperia 5 Announced

Author Sony Xperia 5 Announced
tai020381
Satio Black
Joined: Dec 07, 2004
Posts: > 500
PM
Posted: 2020-01-25 18:19
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post

On 2020-01-25 14:14:49, goldenface wrote:
Getting a few compliments when out and about with this grey X5 - one said it looked 'sleek'.

Anyway, I've set up the Google Pay app so i can pay with the screen locked. Now, I want to set it up so that I need to unlock the phone and activate the app in order to make purchases. Does anyone know how to do this? Can't find anything in Google Pay support.



You mean this?

https://www.visa.com.sg/pay-w[....]bile-contactless-payments.html

https://www.mastercard.com.sg[....]igital-wallets/google-pay.html
[ This Message was edited by: tai020381 on 2020-01-25 17:20 ]
goldenface
Sony Xperia Z3 Compact
Joined: Dec 17, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: Liverpool City Centre
PM, WWW
Posted: 2020-01-27 19:54
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
No, I think it''s an option on the phone or the app itself.

Also, another couple of things, the in-call volume has dropped quite a bit so i can hardly hear a caller in a busy environment, any ideas? It's already on Max in the settings.

Also, in the Service Menu (*#*#7878423#*#*) the Fingerprint Test displays the message *Sensor not OK". Wondering if anyone else has this.
[ This Message was edited by: goldenface on 2020-01-27 19:16 ]
cableguy
Sony Xperia L
Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: Ireland
PM
Posted: 2020-01-28 13:35
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Mine was "Sensor OK"
HWID
0x0603
moogoo
Sony Xperia Z1
Joined: Oct 25, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: NYC
PM
Posted: 2020-01-28 15:59
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
@goldenface - https://support.google.com/pay/answer/7644132

once you've got the lock screen set up, it will require you to unlock before using google pay to make purchases over the minimum listed on that website. if the purchase is under the minimum, you can make the purchase without unlocking but up to a limited number of times before requiring an unlock to verify identity. hopefully by this time, you will have gotten your phone locked, located, and/or wiped with FIND MY DEVICE.

there doesn't seem to be a method to require unlocking for all purchases, no matter how little the amount.

you can deter not so smart criminals by turning off NFC by default and only turning it on manually when you use google pay. a savvy criminal would know you can turn on NFC from the lock screen notification menu, but it's at least one small obstacle for the less savvy ones. best security is having your phone set up on FIND MY DEVICE, so that if you lose it, you can quickly locate it and have it locked down and wiped so your more sensitive information isn't stolen. worst case is you lose a few hundred worth of small purchases before the unlock is required.
moogoo
Nokia 5160 -> Nokia 8260 -> SE T68i -> SE K700i -> SE Z710 -> SE Xperia X10a -> Sony Xperia S -> Sony Xperia Z1 -> Sony Xperia XZ -> Sony Xperia XZ Premium
Website: Coming Soon
goldenface
Sony Xperia Z3 Compact
Joined: Dec 17, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: Liverpool City Centre
PM, WWW
Posted: 2020-01-28 16:08
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Thanks moogoo. Its just a shame I can't set it back it up to 'unlock for all purchases' easily, I can't see the option for that.
moogoo
Sony Xperia Z1
Joined: Oct 25, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: NYC
PM
Posted: 2020-01-28 18:01
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
i don't think there ever was an option for that.

there is an option to require a pin for sending money, but that's an entirely different transaction than paying with NFC.

if there was an option for that in the past, they've taken it away. Like you, I would like to have the option to deny all payments while the phone is locked or deny large transactions over a customized amount. that'd be a nice feature.

I have not tried it yet, but perhaps if you did the LOCKDOWN feature that disables smart lock and fingerprint unlock, it would also deny google pay an undocumented side effect. You can enable the lockdown feature by long pressing the power button. unlocking will require a pin.

moogoo
Nokia 5160 -> Nokia 8260 -> SE T68i -> SE K700i -> SE Z710 -> SE Xperia X10a -> Sony Xperia S -> Sony Xperia Z1 -> Sony Xperia XZ -> Sony Xperia XZ Premium
Website: Coming Soon
doministry
Sony Xperia Z2
Joined: Apr 13, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: PL
PM, WWW
Posted: 2020-01-31 13:07
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Just received Android 10.
Can somebody tell me main differences?
I don't like the new white/black theme configuration. Now everything is all white or all black...
a w a r e
tai020381
Satio Black
Joined: Dec 07, 2004
Posts: > 500
PM
Posted: 2020-01-31 18:08
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post

On 2020-01-31 13:07:13, doministry wrote:
Just received Android 10.
Can somebody tell me main differences?
I don't like the new white/black theme configuration. Now everything is all white or all black...



https://youtu.be/-2LEkMoxVNM
doministry
Sony Xperia Z2
Joined: Apr 13, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: PL
PM, WWW
Posted: 2020-02-01 10:02
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I also found this:

https://support.sonymobile.co[....]e-software-to-android-10/#gref
a w a r e
goldenface
Sony Xperia Z3 Compact
Joined: Dec 17, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: Liverpool City Centre
PM, WWW
Posted: 2020-03-16 17:09
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Does anyone have problems connecting to Hotspots? I've always assumed that the phone will connect to a WiFi hotspots if it had connected to it previously. I have the Hotspot saved in the Wifi settings and have the 'Auto-connect' option switched on.
[ This Message was edited by: goldenface on 2020-03-16 16:11 ]
doministry
Sony Xperia Z2
Joined: Apr 13, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: PL
PM, WWW
Posted: 2020-04-08 11:44
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post

On 2020-03-16 17:09:30, goldenface wrote:
Does anyone have problems connecting to Hotspots? I've always assumed that the phone will connect to a WiFi hotspots if it had connected to it previously. I have the Hotspot saved in the Wifi settings and have the 'Auto-connect' option switched on.
[ This Message was edited by: goldenface on 2020-03-16 16:11 ]


No, I've had no problems so far...
a w a r e
Access the forum with a mobile phone via esato.mobi
Goto page:
Lock this Topic Move this Topic Delete this Topic