Esato

Forum > Sony Ericsson / Sony > GPRS, WAP, MMS and Email setup > question about GPRS activity

12  Next
Author question about GPRS activity
exaflare23
Nokia Lumia 510
PM
Posted: 2009-12-19 03:21
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Guys post your opinions about my GPRS activity in SE phones

Story below

most SE phones have the earth icon when you are using your GPRS (e.g. using operamini browser) or using your built-in browser, but after 5-10 seconds the icon disappeared, im new in SE phone i bought my k800i last month so i just thought it was normal in SE phone,

but few weeks later i read some forums about SE phones then i found out that it was suspected that your GPRS activity or connection was stopped or disconnected if the earth icon disappeared so if you click or go to another page your GPRS will start to reconnect again and will have a delayed going to the next page compared to a connected GPRS.

so far my k800i works fine even that icon disappeared it takes 2-4 seconds to change to another page, i just want to clarify if that is a problem or its just a normal in SE phones.

sorry for my lame english.
"You don't need a reason to help people"
-Nokia N82 5.0MP Carl Zeiss Optics
-My|Phone A878 Duo
My C901 Shots flickr
StevenC
W910 Black
PM
Posted: 2009-12-19 06:47
If you have a wap (http) connection, then it will disconnect when idle. Internet (socket) doesn't disconnect.
litemint
C905 Gold
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-12-20 02:37
Kuya exa, just lyk what steph said.

socket connection is an open connection, so the icon stays there, while the http based, it is only open when you send a command over the server,onced queried,the connection closes.

i think when your using the builtin browser, its like socket, i guess it depends on the trick used, like ssl cgi, php proxy, and glype.

my nose is bleeding, heheh
chuaherson
C901 Silver
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-12-21 07:43