Esato

Forum > General discussions > Non mobile discussion > computer temperatures

Visitors browsing this topic: 1
Add to Bookmarks
Author computer temperatures
mhorton
T68 grey
Joined: Jan 13, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: UK
PM
Posted: 2002-02-24 02:26
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Eamonn

Sounds like a good idea
Eamonn
P800 no flip
Joined: Nov 30, 2001
Posts: > 500
PM
Posted: 2002-02-24 09:36
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
solem: I use HMonitor. Download it from http://www.winsite.com/bin/Info?3326

its says that its shareware but ive had it for a long time and it isn't..
mhorton
T68 grey
Joined: Jan 13, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: UK
PM
Posted: 2002-02-24 12:24
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
O right I'll have a look at that
solem
P800
Joined: Jan 26, 2002
Posts: 74
From: Norway
PM
Posted: 2002-02-24 22:32
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I've tried to install Hmonitor, but I does'nt get any info when I start it. I'm using a laptop, Compaq Evo N150, anyone with experience using this or other programs on laptops?
mhorton
T68 grey
Joined: Jan 13, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: UK
PM
Posted: 2002-02-25 11:50
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
No not really.
Eamonn
P800 no flip
Joined: Nov 30, 2001
Posts: > 500
PM
Posted: 2002-02-25 14:09
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
hows it possible to have 2 CPUs
mhorton
T68 grey
Joined: Jan 13, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: UK
PM
Posted: 2002-02-25 14:31
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
With a Dual processor motherboard. Pick a good one up for 300 which you can run up to 4.0ghz (2.0ghz each cpu)

Eamonn
P800 no flip
Joined: Nov 30, 2001
Posts: > 500
PM
Posted: 2002-02-25 14:32
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
AMAZING!!! do you know if intel make them?
mhorton
T68 grey
Joined: Jan 13, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: UK
PM
Posted: 2002-02-25 19:01
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I'm not to sure, I haven't seen one. Check out some computer web-sites.
Fingers
T610
Joined: Jan 29, 2002
Posts: 468
From: New Zealand
PM
Posted: 2002-03-01 13:18
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Doesn't your operating system have to support multiple processors, I think only Win 2000 does, not sure about XP
mhorton
T68 grey
Joined: Jan 13, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: UK
PM
Posted: 2002-03-01 14:09
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Windows XP Pro and Windows 2000 do support dual processors.

No other operating system will
cruiser91
T39 black
Joined: Feb 13, 2002
Posts: 31
From: Kuching, Malaysia.
PM
Posted: 2002-03-02 16:24
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Linux supports dual CPU too.
cruiser91
T39 black
Joined: Feb 13, 2002
Posts: 31
From: Kuching, Malaysia.
PM
Posted: 2002-03-02 16:28
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I think Intel makes dual cpu mobo, go to their web site www.intel.com

They have the expensive Xeon type.

See www.abit-usa.com for Abit range of mobo - they have some nice dual cpu mobo.

Asus too, www.asus.com but these are expensive server class mobo.
cruiser91
T39 black
Joined: Feb 13, 2002
Posts: 31
From: Kuching, Malaysia.
PM
Posted: 2002-03-02 16:39
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
To make use of programs such as Hmonitor, you must have temperature sensors already in place in your computer.

Not sure if notebooks have them, but some desktop PC motherboard have them built in (2 or 3 pick-up ponts, one or two sensors standard).

Otherwise get your own thermistors from the electronic component supply shops - DIY. Thats what I do for my graphics cards.

There are now hardware kits available with a digital display and pre-wired termperature sensors (just stick the sensors on what you want to monitor, connect power plug to kit), no need for software. Fits on the facia of one full slot.
mhorton
T68 grey
Joined: Jan 13, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: UK
PM
Posted: 2002-03-02 18:57
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
O yeah I forgot about Linux
Access the forum with a mobile phone via esato.mobi