Esato

Forum > Sony Ericsson / Sony > Software, Firmware and Drivers > All about camdriver modding (for modders)

Previous  123 ... 678 ... 181920  Next
Author All about camdriver modding (for modders)
number1
P1
Joined: Sep 12, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: UK,kent,Sittingbourne
PM
Posted: 2008-02-14 18:40
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
read page 5 of this thread last 2 posts i also couldn't believe the bilinear filter was still on even for pics where zoom isn't used. same for the k750i the bilinear filter was running all the time.
jomateixa
C901 Silver
Joined: Dec 09, 2007
Posts: > 500
From:
PM
Posted: 2008-02-14 19:04
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post

On 2008-02-14 18:30:42, sadeghi85 wrote:
Ok, our K800 is not doing fourier transforms, but bilinear filtering is a low pass filter that works in spatial domain with the method called "convolution". it's actually a weighted matrix, sliding as a 'window' on the image(that can be considered as another matrix). on that webpage i provided you can see that weighted matrix(bilinear kernel).

read Digital Image Processing by Rafael Gonzalez chapter 3.


Sorry, but it's you who has to read, I made more matrixes, tensors, transforms and convolutions than you can imagine. Forget the book, that interpretation is not useful for discusing here. Read the wiki, bilinear interpolation is so simple as it seem:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bilinear_interpolation
sadeghi85
Xperia Neo Black
Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 341
PM
Posted: 2008-02-14 21:39
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I'm sorry if i offended you. my biggest problem is to say something in general. when i say about "convolution" that doesn't mean i think you don't know about it. again sorry.

see this pic that is showed on this page. that's about K770 VS K800 pic quality. number1 said low quality of K800 is because of bilinear filtering that is on all the time even when zoom isn't being used.

now about bilinear interpolation: this is for when we haven't enough data i.e for enlargement. now my question is how bilinear filter will act when there is no zoom?

for zoom, expanding image:


now to filling gaps, we should convolve the image with bilinear kernel

result


formula is(from that book)


that is similar to what i found on that page you provided


this is actually low pass filter, although our K800 is not doing fourier transforms.

i didn't say that there is no bilinear filter or something alike. i say the reason that K800 pic has lower quality than K770 pic is sharpness and whitebalance not biliner filter effect. and i repeat my question, if there is no zoom, there is no unknown point, so how bilinear filter will affect the image?
Raiderski
C901 Black
Joined: Jul 03, 2006
Posts: > 500
From: Poland, Hell, Mountains
PM, WWW
Posted: 2008-02-14 22:29
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
no need for theories


if there is no zoom, there is no unknown point, so how bilinear filter will affect the image?


you can imagine that is this way (quick example from GIMP) - load picture and resize it from 2048x to 2047x. effect will be interesting. of course this effect in k750 worked in much smaller scale - disabled filtering 'increased' sharpness of high contrast edges (trees etc.). no matter of effect in k800 it's worth to try
sadeghi85
Xperia Neo Black
Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 341
PM
Posted: 2008-02-14 22:52
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Sorry couldn't understand , please explain more.
jomateixa
C901 Silver
Joined: Dec 09, 2007
Posts: > 500
From:
PM
Posted: 2008-02-14 22:53
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I have to say something, If a picture is taken with a given size, and saved exactly with the same size, the interpolation has no theoretical or mathematical or practical sense. It has no effect, as sadeghi said.

The question, sadeghi, is why don't you believe in yourself, no matter what number1 or others say,

Sorry for the previous post but I don't like the idea of the low pass filter, for me that's incorrect, I don't like that term for interpolation
sadeghi85
Xperia Neo Black
Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 341
PM
Posted: 2008-02-14 23:37
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
so you mean, this isn't important to turning bilinear filter off? i asked that question not just because number1 said it but also Raiderski, so i thought it has some effects on image.

if bilinear filtering is on all the time, and we see it as a low pass filter(without enlargement)(sorry jomateixa ) then Raiderski is right, disabling this filter can improve sharpness of x1.0 pictures.
Raiderski
C901 Black
Joined: Jul 03, 2006
Posts: > 500
From: Poland, Hell, Mountains
PM, WWW
Posted: 2008-02-29 01:06
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
i have some free time without camdrv code. i hope that some of you are going much deeper into modding than just simple code changes. question for today seems to be very easy but it's not, here it is:

we have a lot of registers which are configured with #SET_REG macro. we know what exactly is under some of those registers, we even know values which we should use for them. unfortunately destination of the rest is unknown - we don't know nothing about them. at least would be nice to have opportunity to look into them and to read values from them. this can be small step to understand meaning of some of these registers. i don't have to write that every new discovered register is major step in right direction

we can easily read value from register with #READ_REG macro, for example: #READ_REG(10,$r2 5 5). so, value is in reg5, next step is to show this value. from now problem begins... what can we do with this value to be able to show it?

very easy solution is when we only want to check this situations:
- is value N? set very low contrast
- is value different than N? set very high contrast

yeah, but what with values from range 0 to 255? we cannot display value on viewfinder (just dreaming ). not much solutions left... put it somehow into file to be able to see it in any EXIF reading tool? dunno

maybe some of you work out solution for this crappy situation. for me it's deadlock for potentially new features

cheers


_________________
K800 R1KG001 (camdriver 6.1)
raider.4shared.com
flickr.com/photos/raiderek

[ This Message was edited by: Raiderski on 2008-02-29 00:08 ]
number1
P1
Joined: Sep 12, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: UK,kent,Sittingbourne
PM
Posted: 2008-02-29 11:39
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post

On 2008-02-29 01:06:05, Raiderski wrote:
i have some free time without camdrv code. i hope that some of you are going much deeper into modding than just simple code changes. question for today seems to be very easy but it's not, here it is:

we have a lot of registers which are configured with #SET_REG macro. we know what exactly is under some of those registers, we even know values which we should use for them. unfortunately destination of the rest is unknown - we don't know nothing about them. at least would be nice to have opportunity to look into them and to read values from them. this can be small step to understand meaning of some of these registers. i don't have to write that every new discovered register is major step in right direction

we can easily read value from register with #READ_REG macro, for example: #READ_REG(10,$r2 5 5). so, value is in reg5, next step is to show this value. from now problem begins... what can we do with this value to be able to show it?

very easy solution is when we only want to check this situations:
- is value N? set very low contrast
- is value different than N? set very high contrast

yeah, but what with values from range 0 to 255? we cannot display value on viewfinder (just dreaming ). not much solutions left... put it somehow into file to be able to see it in any EXIF reading tool? dunno

maybe some of you work out solution for this crappy situation. for me it's deadlock for potentially new features

cheers


_________________
K800 R1KG001 (camdriver 6.1)
raider.4shared.com
flickr.com/photos/raiderek

[ This Message was edited by: Raiderski on 2008-02-29 00:08 ]


i hope that some of you are going much deeper into modding than just simple code changes

it doesn't look like it lol i think your on your own, i did make a advance compression system & recode most of camdriver1.dat for the vga front cam.

what your are saying is you want to know what every #SET_REG command is by using #READ_REG to read it somewhere??? and you don't know how & where #READ_REG will read it???, sorry but it's kind of confusing what you said but i'd like to help.
Raiderski
C901 Black
Joined: Jul 03, 2006
Posts: > 500
From: Poland, Hell, Mountains
PM, WWW
Posted: 2008-02-29 12:25
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post

i hope that some of you are going much deeper into modding than just simple code changes

it doesn't look like it lol

and that's why 3MP modding have no chances to evolve at very high level of old 2MP modding. there will be no chengrong2...


i did make a advance compression system

oh come one! you didn't created anything new! you did nothing more than increased file size rules and decreased compression level - it's not 'advanced'! by the way... your simple changes in compression are based on my prototype code template. sorry number1 but you aren't so 'big star' as you want to be


what your are saying is...

i wrote that as simple as possible, nevermind, forget about this

in one thing i must agree with you: i'm on my own, that's why all my work will stay my own only. it's time to close chapter 'do something for others' - it's useless
pietropizzi
K800 Black
Joined: Nov 16, 2007
Posts: 130
From: Vienna
PM
Posted: 2008-02-29 12:30
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Maybe it's totally foolish waht I say, but maybe it helps...

Raider can:
... put anything he wants to set on zoom keys
... do good calculations with bits and mask out bits - I think he can...

Raider wants:
... display values of unknown REG's to learn what these REG's are good for - I think...

Isn't it posible to put these ReadOut-Values on the Zoom-Keys and with a Slider-GUI (like mine) you just dont get the values but the slider position.
Just thinking of triggering the READREG on an Effect and the readout value=Zoom Value=Slider position ?
OK you get a max of 30 positions (maybe 60 by smallest step). I didn't say it would be easy, just an idea...

EDIT:
Sorry to hear that you'll not release public.
But I can't help much with REG's or coding. I'm just good at ideas....

Man, you're the first on world that made manual settings possible on Kxx!
And I made first alternative GUI - I also think worldwide (because patching was not available before)
I know that proto-v2 is at early stage for you - for me it's the greatest discovery since I got my K800
So I'll try to create my beloved PARTY mode(s) with v2.
Thank you for giving us control over K8xx !

[ This Message was edited by: pietropizzi on 2008-02-29 11:40 ]
number1
P1
Joined: Sep 12, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: UK,kent,Sittingbourne
PM
Posted: 2008-02-29 13:00
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post

On 2008-02-29 12:25:25, Raiderski wrote:

i hope that some of you are going much deeper into modding than just simple code changes

it doesn't look like it lol

and that's why 3MP modding have no chances to evolve at very high level of old 2MP modding. there will be no chengrong2...


i did make a advance compression system

oh come one! you didn't created anything new! you did nothing more than increased file size rules and decreased compression level - it's not 'advanced'! by the way... your simple changes in compression are based on my prototype code template. sorry number1 but you aren't so 'big star' as you want to be


what your are saying is...

i wrote that as simple as possible, nevermind, forget about this

in one thing i must agree with you: i'm on my own, that's why all my work will stay my own only. it's time to close chapter 'do something for others' - it's useless



i have made a advance compression system it's not in any drivers i have posted up, i'm still making sure it doesn't crash and it hasn't done so far and thats it all i have done so far can't think of nothing else i'm not sony ericsson nor a computer programmer i'm a unemployed 17 year old mechanical enginner, you sound like some grumpy 60 year old pensioner, i am trying to do other things aswell like mod the display driver at the moment so far so good i have made a display driver thats clearer with deeper colour, i also modded the front vga camdriver not a big improvement but the colour is alot better.
sadeghi85
Xperia Neo Black
Joined: Oct 13, 2007
Posts: 341
PM
Posted: 2008-02-29 13:20
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
in between these pointless arguments, may i ask a question?

i touched the exposure section to use manual ISO, like this:

Code:

//************************************************
// Exposure property 0 *****
//************************************************

// 3 => -2 EV, 9 => -(0) EV .... f => 2 EV
//---------------------------------------------------

seq_set_prop_0_0 = ;
seq_set_prop_0_1 = ;
seq_set_prop_0_2 = ;
seq_set_prop_0_3 = #COM_EVENT(06,FA);
seq_set_prop_0_4 = #COM_EVENT(06,FB);
seq_set_prop_0_5 = #COM_EVENT(06,FC);
seq_set_prop_0_6 = #COM_EVENT(06,FD);
seq_set_prop_0_7 = #COM_EVENT(06,FE);
seq_set_prop_0_8 = #COM_EVENT(06,FF);
seq_set_prop_0_9 = #COM_EVENT(06,00);
seq_set_prop_0_a = #COM_EVENT(05,01);
seq_set_prop_0_b = #COM_EVENT(05,02);
seq_set_prop_0_c = #COM_EVENT(05,03);
seq_set_prop_0_d = #COM_EVENT(05,04);
seq_set_prop_0_e = #COM_EVENT(05,05);
seq_set_prop_0_f = #COM_EVENT(05,06);




now when i use EV0.3-2.0 (manual ISO) and then changing whitebalance e.g to cloudy, it won't work, i should select whitebalance two or three times to work properly. i didn't change other sections. what should i do now?
brazzuka's
Xperia X10 White
Joined: Nov 14, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: South World-Antartida-Sweden
PM, WWW
Posted: 2008-02-29 13:32
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
You have not made any compression or record in resolution vga number1
Compression that u made? I think you should pass information safe correct for people and it is not enough only hypothesis or assumptions.
I really donīt understand its review and do not understand what you interpret number1.
Because time ago you said things wrong on overlock that work with high frequencies damage the phone, because in fact you say that each chip has its datsheet and each chip supports the limit.
Because we want to increase the speed of recording video without stimulating the electrical impulses?
You can not generalize to all mobile phones the functions it does not work does not work well and this proved that.
To generate a video recording of 30fps in order vga in high resolution full resolution at least the hardware has to work with the frequency of 18mhz to 27mhz is the maximum that supports the resolution vga.
How try applying changes in ownership purposes, if the property effect blocks or does not respond to any of the functions stimulis because if it were true it would have to do effects for all drivers and this is not true.
Even chip equals who will determine the final composition of the answers is the same hardware in cameras vga whose changes are small "minimus" in my opinion is so.
Off course that the sensor, lens and chip are very important and it is visible that we can not do miracles because each component such limits the actions.The registers will be answered by the ability of each set must interpret then not every record will respond to all driver .
As well Raider said still exists many register to be found and for which functions will serve.
I think that the idea here is that everyone is helping and with real information and not just say i did this or i did that.
You help everyone real consistent information based on fundamentals would be a great help to all... no offence number1 it is just a opinion nothing more.
I hope that with your information can help everyone to leave all winning

Good job to all and good luck need sometimes
number1
P1
Joined: Sep 12, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: UK,kent,Sittingbourne
PM
Posted: 2008-02-29 14:07
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
i don't start the arguments
and like this to have working whitebalance

Code:

//************************************************
// Exposure property 0 *****
//************************************************

// 3 => -2 EV, 9 => -(0) EV .... f => 2 EV
//---------------------------------------------------

seq_set_prop_0_0 = ;
seq_set_prop_0_1 = ;
seq_set_prop_0_2 = ;
seq_set_prop_0_3 = #COM_EVENT(06,FA);
seq_set_prop_0_4 = #COM_EVENT(06,FB);
seq_set_prop_0_5 = #COM_EVENT(06,FC);
seq_set_prop_0_6 = #COM_EVENT(06,FD);
seq_set_prop_0_7 = #COM_EVENT(06,FE);
seq_set_prop_0_8 = #COM_EVENT(06,FF);
seq_set_prop_0_9 = #COM_EVENT(06,00);
seq_set_prop_0_a = #COM_EVENT(05,01) #UPDATE_WB;
seq_set_prop_0_b = #COM_EVENT(05,02) #UPDATE_WB;
seq_set_prop_0_c = #COM_EVENT(05,03) #UPDATE_WB;
seq_set_prop_0_d = #COM_EVENT(05,04) #UPDATE_WB;
seq_set_prop_0_e = #COM_EVENT(05,05) #UPDATE_WB;
seq_set_prop_0_f = #COM_EVENT(05,06) #UPDATE_WB;



@brazuka
i can get uncompressed vga pictures from my k800i i'll prove it if you want, how can you comment on my new compression system when you havn't even seen it because it's not in any of my uploaded drivers, why are you telling me about overclocking i havn't overclocked any drivers or commented on overclocking you don't make much sense.
Access the forum with a mobile phone via esato.mobi
Previous  123 ... 678 ... 181920  Next
Goto page:
Lock this Topic Move this Topic Delete this Topic