Author |
Firmware R2AA006 released to X1 |
gotanyglazby Joined: Oct 17, 2005 Posts: 99 PM |
wont a backup program just return my x1 back to its state before the update? |
|
anonymuser Joined: Dec 17, 2002 Posts: > 500 PM |
It will restore the data (eg added applications, messages etc) but you'll still have the newer firmware that SEUS updated you with.
There have been compatibilty issues before with restoring data from one version of Windows Mobile to another - for instance when people updated from 6.0 to 6.1 - as the newer version might store some data in different places - but I doubt a minor manufacturer's update like this would cause any such issues. The worst case scenario is simply that restoring the old backup doesn't work, and you're still left with a wiped-clean device.
|
gotanyglazby Joined: Oct 17, 2005 Posts: 99 PM |
ok cheers. still a bit of a kop out that sony dont fit a backup/update utility into all the new phones.. on the w850/etc they used to... massive amount of work to do for a few updates..
|
anonymuser Joined: Dec 17, 2002 Posts: > 500 PM |
It's very poor that SE didn't bundle a little app to do this - or even build something into SEUS to handle it. Most WM phones, certainly HTC ones, come with a free backup utility.
Really, it's a big weakness in the WM platform that you have to have any of this fuss - certain other fruit-based smartphone manufacturers have proved that firmware updates don't have to upset user data at all.. even though they also include an automated backup in their PC software.
|
dany547 Joined: Feb 16, 2009 Posts: 2 From: Romania PM |
interesting:-? |
willo Joined: Sep 21, 2006 Posts: 163 From: Liverpool PM |
On 2009-02-16 16:00:05, Boinng wrote:
certain other fruit-based smartphone manufacturers have proved that firmware updates don't have to upset user data at all..
LOL - are you talking about 'Apple' or 'Blackberry'
|
azusa Joined: Feb 20, 2009 Posts: 1 PM |
I have also upgraded from R1A to R2A UK Generic, did not see any much difference too. The annoying part is that I could not install those application ported from HTC HD such as Album, Volume, Keyboards etc., which I was able to installed and used in R1A. BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. |
Wild Child Joined: Jan 14, 2008 Posts: 152 PM |
Latest rom updates...
http://rapidshare.com/users/ENCD8L Enjoy...
WC |
mathios Joined: Feb 24, 2004 Posts: > 500 From: greece PM |
R2A generic UK is up on seus as of today
[addsig] |
ronis Joined: Apr 10, 2005 Posts: 19 From: Latvia PM |
Confirmed.
I've just updated my X1 without any issues.
Software version: R2AA010
[ This Message was edited by: ronis on 2009-02-21 09:20 ] |
doministry Joined: Apr 13, 2007 Posts: > 500 From: PL PM, WWW
|
Good! |
WhyBe Joined: Apr 02, 2008 Posts: > 500 From: Ohio, USA PM |
On 2009-02-21 10:12:45, ronis wrote:
Confirmed.
I've just updated my X1 without any issues.
Software version: R2AA010
I have Generic UK R2AA008. I wonder what the difference is  |
ronis Joined: Apr 10, 2005 Posts: 19 From: Latvia PM |
I have no clue. |
koto Joined: Sep 18, 2006 Posts: > 500 PM |
For me the new firmware is better. The phone is faster an more stable. Previous firmware (the first one) was ok but I had some small issues with phone.Now it works like a charm, verz fast and smooth. Today I took a few outdoor pictures. I am very pleased with quality. |
WhyBe Joined: Apr 02, 2008 Posts: > 500 From: Ohio, USA PM |
On 2009-02-22 20:51:50, koto wrote:
For me the new firmware is better. The phone is faster an more stable. Previous firmware (the first one) was ok but I had some small issues with phone.Now it works like a charm, verz fast and smooth. Today I took a few outdoor pictures. I am very pleased with quality.
How do you know the difference isn't because you hard-reset and re-installed your apps? How definite is the difference? |
|