Author |
Modded Camera Driver for k800i/k810i |
max_wedge Joined: Aug 29, 2004 Posts: > 500 From: Australia PM, WWW
|
On 2007-08-28 08:23:01, mongoose3800 wrote:
If you want to experiment further just replace the 2mp settings in your camera driver with the following:
seq_set_prop_5_6 = $"2M_High_comp"
#SET_REG(19,4B) // JPEG_INIT_QUALITY = 0x4B = 75d
#SET_REG(13,20) #SET_REG(14,03)
#SET_REG(17,58) #SET_REG(18,02)
#SET_REG(15,90) #SET_REG(16,01);
seq_set_prop_5_7 = $"2M_low_comp"
#SET_REG(19,5A) // JPEG_INIT_QUALITY = 0x5A = 90d
#SET_REG(13,84) #SET_REG(14,03)
#SET_REG(17,20) #SET_REG(18,03)
#SET_REG(15,58) #SET_REG(16,02);
I'd really like to know what others think.
giving this a go now...
|
|
[c3] Joined: Aug 18, 2004 Posts: 181 From: Kuwait PM |
can u post the results b4 and after pics please? thanks |
lpachuong Joined: Jun 06, 2007 Posts: > 500 From: Vietnam PM |
What is the biggest buffersize and compression on k800i ?
[addsig] |
amarsidhu Joined: Mar 09, 2004 Posts: 361 PM |
@lpachuong: can you update k800 driver.??????
[addsig] |
lpachuong Joined: Jun 06, 2007 Posts: > 500 From: Vietnam PM |
Maybe. But does anyone has a table of all properties for k800i?
_________________
To be or not to be !!!
Please save our world. Save our world to save our lives and our generation.
There is no place as good as your house with your family. Home sweet home.
[ This Message was edited by: lpachuong on 2007-08-29 13:44 ] |
mongoose3800 Joined: Nov 29, 2005 Posts: 416 From: Australia PM |
On 2007-08-29 14:34:36, lpachuong wrote:
What is the biggest buffersize and compression on k800i ?
I've had the buffer up to 2000kb but haven't figured out what it does - although I starting to get some ideas - see below. You can have compression right upto 100%. But the results are strange as the higher you go above 90% the images produced have smaller file sizes.
I did stumble across somthing interesting today though - I increased the min file size for 3mp driver from 400kb to 800kb. Interestingly the driver worked fine until I took a photo that was mostly white. This is when the camera reset. So, I tried really complex images and all was fine. So I put the setting back to 400kb and tested again. The file of a totally white scene is quite small. So, I think the min file size is actually the minimum file size that will be accepted from the sensor. I am now wondering if the same applies to the max file size.
[ This Message was edited by: mongoose3800 on 2007-08-29 14:13 ] |
max_wedge Joined: Aug 29, 2004 Posts: > 500 From: Australia PM, WWW
|
mongoose, that 2MP mod is quite cool, it gives us the 2MP images (with this mod alone) that we needed massively tweaked drivers to get the same on the K750!
This tends to prove to me the K800 sensor is quite good.
Perhaps the phone is not really powerful enough to run full quality 3MP images (due to phone resources, no fault of the sensor or camera module itself.)
Or, perhaps camdriver just needs to be tweaked forperformance more than SE could be bothered with! I'm going for that option....
|
mongoose3800 Joined: Nov 29, 2005 Posts: 416 From: Australia PM |
On 2007-08-29 13:56:10, max_wedge wrote:
On 2007-08-28 08:23:01, mongoose3800 wrote:
If you want to experiment further just replace the 2mp settings in your camera driver with the following:
seq_set_prop_5_6 = $"2M_High_comp"
#SET_REG(19,4B) // JPEG_INIT_QUALITY = 0x4B = 75d
#SET_REG(13,20) #SET_REG(14,03)
#SET_REG(17,58) #SET_REG(18,02)
#SET_REG(15,90) #SET_REG(16,01);
seq_set_prop_5_7 = $"2M_low_comp"
#SET_REG(19,5A) // JPEG_INIT_QUALITY = 0x5A = 90d
#SET_REG(13,84) #SET_REG(14,03)
#SET_REG(17,20) #SET_REG(18,03)
#SET_REG(15,58) #SET_REG(16,02);
I'd really like to know what others think.
giving this a go now...
MAX, Set your 2mp low comp to 100% (64 in Hex) as well. I think you get better pictures than using the standard 90%.
So far I'm still consistantly noticing less jaggerness.
|
[c3] Joined: Aug 18, 2004 Posts: 181 From: Kuwait PM |
Is it only fixing the jagged edges issue or are the pictures actually getting sharper? |
max_wedge Joined: Aug 29, 2004 Posts: > 500 From: Australia PM, WWW
|
On 2007-08-30 00:15:23, [c3] wrote:
Is it only fixing the jagged edges issue or are the pictures actually getting sharper?
I don't get this obsession with sharpness?? I am not finding any problem with sharpness in the K800 driver. It seems well balanced in this regard. Sharpness is an artifical "fix" and will only result in loss of detail as picture information is thrown away to unnaturally sharpen the image. Sharpening is a processing step best left to resized pictures or forensic imaging experts. If the CMOS sensor was really poor quality (it isn't) then sharpening might help, but not in this case.
Hold your camera steady, that's the best advice I can give. The sensor is not a lightning fast DSLR CCD jobbie - you have to hold the camera nice and steady, and also wait a second after taking the picture (don't just snap and run).
Improving sharpness won't fix any other deficiencies in fact it will only make them more obvious. Infact the jagged lines are partially caused by sharpening (sharpening introduces aliasing)
I've compared the sharpened images to default, and they look better on the phone LCD, but look pixelated and rough on the PC screen.
|
juming Joined: Dec 11, 2001 Posts: 141 From: Indonesia PM, WWW
|
On 2007-08-30 01:09:16, max_wedge wrote:
I don't get this obsession with sharpness?? I am not finding any problem with sharpness in the K800 driver. It seems well balanced in this regard.
Hold your camera steady, that's the best advice I can give. The sensor is not a lightning fast DSLR CCD jobbie - you have to hold the camera nice and steady, and also wait a second after taking the picture (don't just snap and run).
Improving sharpness won't fix any other deficiencies in fact it will only make them more obvious. Infact the jagged lines are partially caused by sharpening (sharpening introduces aliasing)
I've compared the sharpened images to default, and they look better on the phone LCD, but look pixelated and rough on the PC screen.
100% Agree with you, Sharpening only makes picture jaggies, and now I'm reset back to standard, or if want to add more sharpening 12.5% is maximum, otherwise picture will be jaggies.
About DSLR, it's using CMOS max but different CMOS sensor compared with camera phone, but there are some (actually very few) DSLR using CCD. |
max_wedge Joined: Aug 29, 2004 Posts: > 500 From: Australia PM, WWW
|
On 2007-08-30 02:01:27, juming wrote:
About DSLR, it's using CMOS max  but different CMOS sensor compared with camera phone, but there are some (actually very few) DSLR using CCD.
I was making a joke, and CCD sounded better than CMOS.
Anyway, CCD is still common in DSLR. CMOS will eventually replace CCD, but there are still many ccd based DSLR's on the market.
|
rockygali Joined: Nov 21, 2005 Posts: > 500 From: PM, WWW
|
hi guys... so?! where is the final tweak?!
"Darkness is the absence of light.. and not the opposite..." |
juming Joined: Dec 11, 2001 Posts: 141 From: Indonesia PM, WWW
|
On 2007-08-30 03:20:18, rockygali wrote:
hi guys... so?! where is the final tweak?!
Back to stock driver but with some improvement on compression, and ISO when using Xenon flash. For sharpening, it's better using third party digital lab software on PC, except if SE can apply "unsharp mask" method for sharpening. |
rockygali Joined: Nov 21, 2005 Posts: > 500 From: PM, WWW
|
oh my.. how come?!
i thought they had something goin on with the 2MP tweak..
i mean that alone will suffice my hunger for better driver.
i just do not understand what they meant when tweaking some lines...
not much of a hex type to tell yah frankly...
"Darkness is the absence of light.. and not the opposite..." |
|