Esato

Forum > Sony Ericsson / Sony > Technical > Unlocking vs flashing

Author Unlocking vs flashing
Timbo
K700
Joined: Jul 07, 2004
Posts: 19
PM
Posted: 2005-02-14 11:06
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Hi guys,

I' m fairly new to all this ...so forgive me !!

What's the difference between unlocking and flashing ?
Do you need to unlock first, before flashing or doesn't it matter ?
How are they both done ?

Thanks for your help.
619
R520 copper
Joined: Jun 19, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: if you dont like my posts, IGN
PM
Posted: 2005-02-14 11:09
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
unlock is different from flashing

if you flash, it wont unlock your phone

if you unlock, the same old firmware will still be there.


unlocking MIGHT void your warranty

----------------------------------------
www.davinciteam.com for unlocking/flashing your SE phones.. pm me [addsig]
gbrooks3
P1
Joined: Jun 02, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: OTP RED CID36
PM, WWW
Posted: 2005-02-14 11:12
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Hello,

Flashing the phone will write cimpletely new data to the flash chips inside the phone. It is like formatting your hardrive on your computer and doing a cleasn install of xp. Goes back to factory default - depending on files

Unlocking deals with a different part of the phone the gdfs, in which the phones "simlocks" become unlocked or relocked if you wish.

Because the platform sends bogus messages while charging, that is why!!!..But why this change of heart?..We sense a charger connected, oops, we will not shut down after all!!!..*********************** UI BASIC, HOLD YOUR HORSES
Timbo
K700
Joined: Jul 07, 2004
Posts: 19
PM
Posted: 2005-02-14 11:26
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Thanks for the speedy replies guys !

I've got the T28 cable ready for the unlock - thanks for the warantee warning too.

Is the 'Sony Ericsson upgrade' service here http://www.sonyericsson.com/s[....]5_7&zone=ps&lm=ps1_1&pid=10139 a flash for the phone ?

And is flashing possible using the T28 cable ?
HyperiaBlue
V800
Joined: Jan 09, 2005
Posts: 424
From: Outerspace!
PM
Posted: 2005-02-14 12:11
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Quote:

On 2005-02-14 11:26:26, Timbo wrote:
Thanks for the speedy replies guys !

I've got the T28 cable ready for the unlock - thanks for the warantee warning too.

Is the 'Sony Ericsson upgrade' service here http://www.sonyericsson.com/s[....]5_7&zone=ps&lm=ps1_1&pid=10139 a flash for the phone ?

And is flashing possible using the T28 cable ?




That is the correct link for the Update Service online.
You will need the following as quoted on the website:

- I have a PC with at least a Pentium 133 with 32 MB RAM or more - a Pentium II 233 with at least 64MB RAM is recommended

- The operating system on my PC is one of the following: Windows 98SE, ME, 2000 (SP3 required) or XP (SP1 required)

- I have installed and connected a SyncStation to my PC - not all SyncStations support this service. The label on the bottom of your SyncStation should say DSS-20 or DSS-25.

- I have installed Driver for the DSS-20 OR DSS-25. The driver can be found here (http://www.sonyericsson.com/spg.jsp?cc=gb&lc=en&ver=4000&template=ps2&zone=ps&lm=ps2)

- My device is fully charged

If u want to use the T28 cable, then i suggest you use SE Tool (www.setool.net). You will need to download the software for the COMport logger and purchase credits. Please note that the T28 cable must be a service cable and NOT a data cable.


_________________
Sony Ericsson - the marriage of the consumer electronics Beauty to the telecomms Beast

[ This Message was edited by: HyperiaBlue on 2005-02-14 11:13 ]
Timbo
K700
Joined: Jul 07, 2004
Posts: 19
PM
Posted: 2005-02-14 12:20
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
@ HyperiaBlue - thanks.

Do you have any idea where I can download the T28 driver from ?
HyperiaBlue
V800
Joined: Jan 09, 2005
Posts: 424
From: Outerspace!
PM
Posted: 2005-02-14 12:29
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
PM me, with your email address, i have the drivers.
Sony Ericsson - the marriage of the consumer electronics Beauty to the telecomms Beast

If you have any se-nse, then you will visit http://www.se-nse.com
Timbo
K700
Joined: Jul 07, 2004
Posts: 19
PM
Posted: 2005-02-14 12:53
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Done
CONFIQ
K700
Joined: Aug 06, 2005
Posts: 1
PM
Posted: 2005-08-06 12:41
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
very useful topic.
I have additional question. If i have data cable and not service cable, can i update my firmware?
sailaab
S700
Joined: May 19, 2005
Posts: > 500
From: India
PM
Posted: 2005-08-18 02:44
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
@Confiq> I doubt..
Today is the First Day of the Rest of my Life!
SE TRIVIA
Access the forum with a mobile phone via esato.mobi