Esato

Forum > General discussions > General > MacBook Pro - Mountain Lion, how to do a factory reset?

Author MacBook Pro - Mountain Lion, how to do a factory reset?
ofiaich
W900 black
Joined: Nov 12, 2001
Posts: > 500
From: East Yorkshire, England
PM
Posted: 2012-08-19 13:03
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Hi everyone!

I have a MacBook Pro 13" 2.66gHz, mid 2010? It has 8gb memory and 320GB and is running Mountain Lion.

I will sell this and want to restore it to the factory settings. Mountain Lion was downloaded via Apple Store and I do not have any CD's, or other flash media with restore software.

I know I could uninstall software such as Entourage and Elmedia, and also I can delete all email accounts, iTunes accounts, my own home network settings etc and I need to check how to do that.

I will research more but any advice from experienced Mac Users is always appreciated!

Ofiaich
esato since Nov, 12, 2001
adnansanni
HTC One X
Joined: Dec 07, 2006
Posts: > 500
From: Bangladesh
PM
Posted: 2012-08-19 13:42
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Ofiaich: If you bought and installed the mountain lion from app store then after installed, the installer has deleted automatically. You have to re-download the mountain lion again (won't cost you again) and make a bootable flash drive or DVD from it. after make the bootable flash drive or DVD, Boot from it, format the Internal Hard-Disk and re-install.

Here is the instruction you may follow:
How to create a bootable, backup Mountain Lion install disk

How to make a bootable Mountain Lion install drive
..Adnan..
jplacson
Sony Xperia P
Joined: Apr 21, 2002
Posts: > 500
From: Philippines
PM, WWW
Posted: 2012-08-19 13:56
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Mountain Lion is yours via your iTunes account.

If you do NOT have any recovery CDs to restore back to Leopard or Snow Leopard and you just want a complete wipe (similar to Windows reformat) it's quite easy on a Mac.

1) Open System Preferences

2) Click on Users & Groups

3) Unlock and create a new ADMIN user w/ no password

4) Log in as the new ADMIN user

5) Delete your old user account.

That's it. Takes about 3 minutes.

This will NOT downgrade back to Leopard or SL, your MBP will still remain on ML, unless the HDD dies and the next owner has to restore.
ofiaich
W900 black
Joined: Nov 12, 2001
Posts: > 500
From: East Yorkshire, England
PM
Posted: 2012-08-19 15:33
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
thanks adnansanni and jplacson!

I will read the links carefully! I think just removing all my email accounts, iTunes info, etc might be enough..!

Now to read those links!

thanks again!

Ofiaich

esato since Nov, 12, 2001
Access the forum with a mobile phone via esato.mobi