Esato

Forum > Sony Ericsson / Sony > General > Newbie and W995 not working as hoped.

Author Newbie and W995 not working as hoped.
junkaholic
Model not set
PM
Posted: 2012-07-20 03:32
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Hello, I bought a W995 off eBay to replace mine that I lost. Its not working as I hoped, e.g,. music play button only works if phone is unlocked (previous it worked no matter what, as it should I think), the phone locks after 10 seconds even if slider open (previously never locked if open), etc.

I can see from a cursory browse that I can fix these things myself, but I'm brand new. Can someone tell me where to start? I understand I should flash it for my country. I'm in Canada, but if that's not available, I could flash for UK or US. Can someone tell me how to start?

I didn't have the conversation tab in messages when I rec'd it, but I did a master reset and now its there. I would appreciate someone holding my hand to start off with. I look forward to learning all about the tweaks I can make to "modernize" the phone. Thank you very much
hihihans
HTC One
PM
Posted: 2012-07-20 20:58
Start your search in "settings" you can change the "time out" there and most likely also free the button from its lock.
Further modifications can be done but please read the threads carefully first.
Welcome @ esato
junkaholic
Model not set
PM
Posted: 2012-07-20 21:23
No, there is no Setting to change the timeout. There is actually very little in the phone Settings. There are other problems I have discovered. Even the volume of music output to the headphones is very low compared to my previous W995. I have posted on the SE-NSE forums and have been advised to flash the phone with my country's firmware with some Omnius software and go from there.

If anyone has any other suggestions for me, I would greatly appreciate it.
emporium
Sony Xperia V
PM
Posted: 2012-07-20 22:17

[ This Message was edited by: emporium on 2012-12-22 23:09 ]
junkaholic
Model not set