Esato

Forum > General discussions > Non mobile discussion > my laptop screen is distorted with multi-colour lines

Author my laptop screen is distorted with multi-colour lines
kwabs2006
W850 black
Joined: Sep 12, 2006
Posts: 184
From: Ghana
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-06-01 19:05
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I don't know what happened to it but my laptop screen get distorted with small lines of every colour. They start gradually and ultimalely cover the whole screen making it unreadable and useless because everything has been covered by these lines.

_________________
as i walked thru the park yesterday,
i was wondering why frisbees look bigger and bigger the closer they get...
then it hit me!

[ This Message was edited by: masseur on 2009-06-01 18:22 ]
kwabs2006
W850 black
Joined: Sep 12, 2006
Posts: 184
From: Ghana
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-06-01 19:08
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
i use an hp pavilion zv6000. how can i solve this cos i really need 2 use my laptop.
the best thing that ever happened to me: http://spinglo.com/i/kwabs2006
garlic_bread
T250 Silver
Joined: Jul 20, 2006
Posts: 330
PM
Posted: 2009-06-01 19:29
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Do you have a monitor? if so conect it via vga and see if the lines are there.

If not it is probably a faulty LCD

If they are its probably a faulty graphics processor!

Lee
kwabs2006
W850 black
Joined: Sep 12, 2006
Posts: 184
From: Ghana
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-06-01 19:34
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Tried that, and the lines were there! so what do i need 2 do?
the best thing that ever happened to me: http://spinglo.com/i/kwabs2006
garlic_bread
T250 Silver
Joined: Jul 20, 2006
Posts: 330
PM
Posted: 2009-06-01 19:46
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Im not sure about hp's but on older ibooks when this problem occurs its usualy the solder on the GPU has come undone.....

If you can find out where the GPU is you can try and use a shim to put pressure on the GPU to regain connection.

Lee
kwabs2006
W850 black
Joined: Sep 12, 2006
Posts: 184
From: Ghana
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-06-01 19:58
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Thx will try that.. so no need 2 purchase a new gpu?
the best thing that ever happened to me: http://spinglo.com/i/kwabs2006
lukechris
M600 black
Joined: Dec 30, 2007
Posts: > 500
From: Preston, UK
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-06-01 20:08
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Try resoldering and if it works then good if not you'll have to fork out
jcwhite_uk
Sony Xperia Z1
Joined: Feb 18, 2004
Posts: > 500
From: Dorset, UK Phone:Xperia Z1
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-06-01 20:31
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
GPU's are normally fixed to the board so if it has gone wrong there are 2 choices.
1. Pay someone a lot of money to fix it.
2. Buy a new laptop.
Checkout my photos at My Website

"Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."
kwabs2006
W850 black
Joined: Sep 12, 2006
Posts: 184
From: Ghana
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-06-01 21:17
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
its that expensive huh?
the best thing that ever happened to me: http://spinglo.com/i/kwabs2006
Cycovision
P990
Joined: Nov 30, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: England
PM, WWW
Posted: 2009-06-01 21:19
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
In the UK at least, it is often so expensive that it actually works out cheaper to buy a new computer

I can't speak for elsewhere in the world though so good luck!
Access the forum with a mobile phone via esato.mobi