Esato

Forum > Sony Ericsson / Sony > Symbian phones > P990i Master Reset!

12  Next
Author P990i Master Reset!
Saumitra
P990
Joined: Jul 26, 2006
Posts: 15
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 02:34
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Oh, that thing worked wonders for my phone! I was soo frustrated with the constant lockups and errors that I was almost ready to chuck my phone out of the window. But I decided to backup my data and did a master reset!!

Errors Fixed:
-Super fast response for the whole phone
-Internet browser, built-in and Opera work awesome!!
-low memory usage
-installed the gmail app
-wifi works without much hiccups!

I finally feel this is the phone I put down my money for! my dad's money i mean ...

I'm hoping R9A001 will iron out all the outstanding issues with this phone ... can't wait!!

Cheers,
Sam
Mr[NiK]
P990
Joined: Mar 06, 2002
Posts: 267
From: UK - Leicester
PM, WWW
Posted: 2006-11-17 12:46
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Mite have to try that sone time what did the master reset remove i know it will get rid of the games preinstalled. how much ram do you have free on a reboot btw ? and what network is your phone oon as in was it branded or not ??? pls post pics if u can !
“I am not teaching you anything. I just help you to explore yourself” - Bruce Lee
vincebio
P990
Joined: Oct 02, 2006
Posts: 89
From: Glasgow
PM, WWW
Posted: 2006-11-17 13:09
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
yeah,

pleasepost sooe more info on this...

i have been threatening to do the same, but since i installed Swiss Man, its pretty solid...but more speed would be good.


vince
Osmano
X1 Silver
Joined: Jul 22, 2006
Posts: 252
From: Trondheim, Norway
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 13:16
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
@saumitra

Hi! How do you perform a master reset?:-)
Bandit
K810 Blue
Joined: Oct 06, 2006
Posts: 129
From: Toronto
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 15:49
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
What's left after a master reset?

~LB
ares
P1
Joined: Dec 11, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: Coimbra, Portugal
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 15:57
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
for removing bugs, i think its better to format internal drive via service menu...
dancingfate
K700
Joined: Sep 25, 2004
Posts: > 500
From: Jakarta, Indonesia
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 16:17
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
With Master Reset I think some pre-installed games and applications are gone.
Apple iPhone 4, HTC Evo 3D, HTC Sensation, HTC Inspire 4G, HTC Desire S, HTC Wildfire, S001, SO905iCS, T650 (Gold & Green), C901, W800, K660, K700, Beibei (G702), Severine (DEAD)
koto
G900 Brown
Joined: Sep 18, 2006
Posts: > 500
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 16:55
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
That's true. You just lose pre installed games and aplications but not esencial one like quick office etc. and even for that you are asked so you can chose. What you certainly lose is personal settings and data. Alter master reset you again go through OS instalation as in the case of SEUS upgrade i.e. chose language etc. I have done it after firmware upgrade and can agree it's a good thing.
gommace
T68 gold
Joined: Sep 22, 2006
Posts: 30
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 18:07
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
But it is still better formatting the internal disk instead of the master reset. The way to do that is entering the Service Menu (Jog Dial Up/ Press * / Jog Dial Down / Jog Dial Down / Press * /Jog Dial Down/ Press *) and choose "Format Internal Disk".

After that, it is very important not to use your back - up, because you would probably install again all the previous bugs. You must sincronyze with Outlook instead.

The problem of this procedure is that you loose all the previous installed software, but that you get is an "almost - free bugs" phone, and you speed up dramatically the phone.
ares
P1
Joined: Dec 11, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: Coimbra, Portugal
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 18:21
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
Quote:

On 2006-11-17 18:07:24, gommace wrote:
But it is still better formatting the internal disk instead of the master reset. The way to do that is entering the Service Menu (Jog Dial Up/ Press * / Jog Dial Down / Jog Dial Down / Press * /Jog Dial Down/ Press *) and choose "Format Internal Disk".

After that, it is very important not to use your back - up, because you would probably install again all the previous bugs. You must sincronyze with Outlook instead.

The problem of this procedure is that you loose all the previous installed software, but that you get is an "almost - free bugs" phone, and you speed up dramatically the phone.




exactly
Bandit
K810 Blue
Joined: Oct 06, 2006
Posts: 129
From: Toronto
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 18:44
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I'll have to look into that one....hrmmm...does it take long? Is it easy to screw up?

<------ is a technological dunce

~LB
miguel82
Satio Black
Joined: Feb 14, 2006
Posts: 414
From: Portugal
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 19:04
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
If you format the internal disk you lose your languages too? For exemple if you do that on p900 you will lose all languages that were instaled in your phone except inglish.
koto
G900 Brown
Joined: Sep 18, 2006
Posts: > 500
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 20:55
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
@gommace @ares

Didn't know that. Thanks for the info. I'll do it. About languages, all I need is English so it's fine with me.
ares
P1
Joined: Dec 11, 2003
Posts: > 500
From: Coimbra, Portugal
PM
Posted: 2006-11-17 21:15
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
the languages are all available at SEs website, so its not a problem removing them all...
Saumitra
P990
Joined: Jul 26, 2006
Posts: 15
PM
Posted: 2006-11-19 20:17
Reply with quoteEdit/Delete This PostPrint this post
I was wondering if I should really go from the R5 firmware to the R7? Is it really helpful?
Access the forum with a mobile phone via esato.mobi