Welcome to Esato.com




Scam on Ebay (P910)

Click to view updated thread with images


Posted by djpowelly
This cant be right.... Can it?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBay[....]item=6114712316&category=42391


Posted by masseur
probably not. there are loads like this and they started the day announced the P910 and we have had quite a few threads linking to these type of auctions

I would only buy latest phones from ebay if I could collect in person

Posted by djpowelly
Oh right, thanks...

Posted by Yazan24
But this guy has a perfect profile, would he ruin it for the money, it depends if theres a reserve or not, Id give it a shot if there was no reserve and Id only have to pay .99


Posted by Jah

No - don't bid. I would say about 99% of sales for the P910 and Nokia 9500 are probably scams. It is very easy for scammers to steal accounts and therefore appear ligit. I reported about 10 of these account takeovers to eBay in the last 2 weeks. You should report these to eBay as well. Drive-out the scammers!

Posted by masseur
perfect profile perhaps, but most of his recent sales that I have looked at are for crystal related items and now suddenly he has 20 P910?


Posted by Jools
Almost certainly a hi-jacked account as all his previous sales have been of crystals...

Posted by masseur
2 interesting things though

first, it was a 10 day listing. people hijacking and doing this usually do 1 or 3 day listings

also there is very recent feedback for others

don't know what to make of it really

Posted by energetic
Unless he has decided to expand his business.

Posted by BigFeat
I think this listing is for information to lead one to purchasing a P910. The diction in the description alludes to the seller having knowledge of how to obtain a unit. I guess the section where he/she describes that the unit will come with a receipt from the vendor sais it all. What I read into that is that it he/she does not have possesion of the stock, but has a listing of which vendors may have units in stock. This is very common on Ebay. However, most sellers are likely to warn users that they are simply selling the information for where/how to obtain a product. I think this seller has failed to do so if that's the case.

In addition, I don't think this account was hijacked either. Most of these hijacked accounts usually state some BS about asking the buyer to email them at an alternate email address because they won't have access to the Ebay linked address. That seems more likely in the sense that it might be easy to obtain a username/password from Ebay, but difficult to get personal email password information from that. Ebay makes it tough even for legit members to recover their passwords thus I believe a sure way to spot these hijacked accounts is to look for members asking buyers to write to an alternate address. I spoted at least 3 of those so far with supposedly reputable sellers. I don't think it's tought to spoof these Ebay accounts. A lot of hackers are capatilizing on that by probably sending emails to members and having them relinquish their Ebay id/passwords under false pretenses. Becareful!

Posted by vlad92
"pre-approved"-100% SCUM.
I was scummed this way once.
Paid, never recieved my 20 P900's.

Posted by spora
i think that BigFeat could be right

"Email me with the quantity of phones that you wish to buy and i will let you know the price and other shipping/payment details."

this suggests to me that he is just selling info becuase otherwise you would obvivously know the price as you are bidding on it...if that makes sense


Posted by amnesia
well if you doubt it, why not do something simple.
Send him an email saying you'll buy one for 800 pounds, but you want to see pics.
And be specific.

Tell him you want to see a pic of the back with his thumb covering the lense. Tell him you want to see the screen with a message saying "For Sale on Ebay"

SOmething like that.

If he's legit, he'll do it.

Posted by Lynx69
I emailed him.

Quote:
Hello,

I am looking to buy a P910. I have a set price and before I bid I would like to see a picture of the phone. Because I am a bit skeptical about spending so much money on E-Bay could you please provide me with some proof that you have the phone.

Could you please take a picture of the phone with your thumb on the screen and could you please have a piece of paper on the screen saying 'For Sale On Ebay' or turn the phone on and write that on the phone using the stylus.

Thanks,

Fahid



Posted by amnesia
LOL!
I asked that too!
Plus I asked him to open up the back panel and put the battery on the cover itself.

He'll probably think it's one person trying to mess with him

I didn't get a reply yet though btw.


edit: he's probably wondering "what the hell is it with people and my thumb" lol

_________________

or Try Oxygen Inc. or Aqua-Side Oxygen-X

[ This Message was edited by: amnesia on 2004-09-01 21:26 ]

Posted by djpowelly
, looks like a hijack to meeee

Posted by Lynx69
I got a reply.

Quote:
Hello,
First i want to inform you that are many emails to read and reply,and for that reason i will send first email to all potential clients
with a general informations.
Now we are trying to sell the remaining
stock. because of nonpayng bidders it was a preaprouved auction.
The auction has ended but the offer is still available!
We have 3 lots of 20 pieces of Sony ericsson P910.
This is our price list:
1 Sony Ericsson P910-120GBP
5 Sony Ericsson P910-500 GBP
10 Sony Ericsson P910-900GBP
20 Sony Ericsson P910-1700 GBP.
The units are brand new still in their original package factory sealed,unlocked for any networks!.
They ship with all the accessories provided by the manufacturer and
have international warranty . All the manuals and the original
documentation are in English and French!
As soon as we agree upon the trasaction terms I will make the S&H
arrangements and schedule a pickup with UPS. You will receive your
package in 2 working days at most. We ship all packages having written
on them "display unit, no comercial value" or as a gift so you don't
have to pay any additional taxes like customs or dutys.
For more details please email me!



No proof

Posted by lordmat
its a scam he just wants your money then he will never use ebay again
also 120pound 100percent scam

_________________
what im selling
www.esato.com/board/viewtopic.php?topic=67777

[ This Message was edited by: lordmat on 2004-09-02 15:58 ]

Posted by amnesia
i got this EXACT same email.

I asked him again to give me a photograph, this time with the unit next to the latest edition of ANY newspaper.

Posted by Lynx69
Quote:

On 2004-09-02 17:12:10, amnesia wrote:
i got this EXACT same email.

I asked him again to give me a photograph, this time with the unit next to the latest edition of ANY newspaper.




I wont ask him the same just incase he thinks were one person

We'll just wait until he replies to you.

Posted by djpowelly
£120, you cant pick a decent P800 up for that!

Posted by jcwhite_uk
He could have been a bit more convincing by selling the phone for about £700. People might have believed him a bit more then.
Also, why would he have to mark the item as a gift. He is registered in the uk. I thinks it is someone from eastern europe?

Posted by lordmat
maybe if u could pick it up

Posted by vlad92
You sent money to UK, and guy from Romania will recieve them.

Posted by amnesia
well I got a reply

quote:
"Hey i don't have any pictures,
But i can contact ebay and they send you an email with the transaction we want to make and assure you that they will respond for all!
For that i need the number pieces you want to buy and your full name and adress!"

wtf, forget him lol, scam scam scam.

Guess he hasn't learned to take a picture, even with all those CAMERA phones he has

Posted by vvrrmandiga
@amnesia

The reply you got definitely smells scam..... stay away everybody...


Posted by Gamerz10
I'm reading all the post in this thread, and, i can tell ya, ma eyes are opened now. I really think someone should come up with a secure way to buy online. I'm in jamaica and i'm holding on to my money until there is a secure way to buy online. A P910 for 120 gbp?! And the price falls as you buy more. I'm rather keep ma money.

Posted by Luke-the-magic-man
its now been taken off ebay, but its obvoiusly a scam, if it asks for you to contact him it is

Posted by Jim
Congrats for bringing back a one year old thread


Click to view updated thread with images


© Esato.com - From the Esato mobile phone discussion forum