Welcome to Esato.com




Is it safe to use a credit card online?

Click to view updated thread with images


Posted by arroyootje
Hi, I've just bought some stuff over the internet with my dad's credit card and they asked for a bankstatement and copy of the creditcard (expansys). I sent it twice to the fax number and waited for over a week and they kept on saying that they hadn't received it, which really pissed me off. NOw I've scanned it and sent it to them by email.

Can someone in the office take that statement and clear the bank account? How safe is it to order over the internet by credit card??

My mum is really worried and now I'm worried too. It must be safe, otherwise why would so many people use it to pay with?????

Comments?


Posted by Owen
Well... At some websites paying with a c-card is safe... But at some... hmmmm... I wouldn't do it.
I would only pay with c-card at sites which are a bit "famous".

Cheers

Posted by Wings_Talons
I guess it is.. or atleast I have had not much problems with it. I use it quite often - about once a week and sometimes more often.

Watch out for these things when you use the credit card though:

Make sure its a https:// connection and not http:// That is there is an 's' added to the 'http' and that 's' stands for secure connection.

There will be a small padlock displayed on the bottom of the web browser (next to the globe) if you are using Internet explorer.

Also in general make sure the credit card information that you type gets encrypted. Usually most websites use a secure agency like 'Verisign' to take your credit card details and encrypt it. Once the credit card company validates the purchase then Verisign tells the selling company to despatch the product. Therefore the company you are buying from doesn't ever get to know your credit card details. Even Verisign doesn't know your details because its encrypted.

Of course there is always a chance something might go wrong but I feel quite ok to use credit card on net. Hope this helps

Posted by Fingers
Yeah as long as it's a secure site as Maltesh has sad I think you'll be ok, I've bought heaps of stuff via the net and never had any trouble, if someone is looking for a cc number, the chances that it's going to be yours are pretty slim, there's so much info flying back and forth in the net.

Posted by lor
I only buy from amazon.com or amazon.co.uk

lol

Posted by john74
ive never had problems in the past,BTW i picked up my new T68i today screw the MMS upgrade now!!!!!!!!! but i do feel sorry for those who have o wait,i was one of them 24 hours ago

Posted by cadcad
arroyootje as much as it is a safe known site, u don't care. but don't go for unknown sites and u can use some limited credit cards. i've got one which has a limit of 200$/month so if a steal is going to happen they can only get the 200$. then u'll know and u can afterwards change the number of the card!!

Posted by jamojdm
On most credit cards these days they offer an internet fraud garantee where if someone else uses ur credit card number froma payment on the net you dont have to pay for it.


Jamo

Posted by Eamonn
no it is not...you have been ripped off!!! Just kidding

Posted by Deltayoda
"bankstatement and copy of the creditcard"

Why do they need your bankstatement and credit card at the same time? Most online stores only want your Credit Card number, name, expiration and sometimes the little code on the back, that’s it!

I would tell them to screw off about the bank statement, and if they want to keep pressing for it and not sell me what I want, they’d happily end up in court with me winning a million dollars

I'm not sure how things are done in Azerbaijan, but here in the US, I would find that extremely ODD, no matter what country I'm ordering from. I would really get concerned about this, especially with them asking about your bank statement and FAX'ing it to them (This information should be private)! Unless you are trying to buy a Lamborghini online with a credit card, that would be fishy to them

Posted by evoke
Quote:

On 2002-05-22 19:55, john74 wrote:
BTW i picked up my new T68i today screw the MMS upgrade now!!!!!!!!! but i do feel sorry for those who have o wait,i was one of them 24 hours ago



John>

It makes life a little less complicated doesn't it? I think it is really shit how they are pissing everyone about!

Ed

Posted by dazmcc
arroyootje>

what/who from have you ordered?is it a reputable company?


Posted by Thief
Don't worry, it is safe. He bought something from expansys ( www.expansys.com ) and they use which web trader ( http://whichwebtrader.which.net/webtrader/ ) for security which is used by many sites. Also, in their terms of use they say that "1.0 Delivery
1.1 Your credit card will not be debited until the day we ship your goods." so... don't worry!!! the rest of teh terms of use ---> http://www.expansys.com/faq.asp It is a big site and well known, i don't think that anything will go wrong!

_________________
THIEF

[ This Message was edited by: Thief on 2002-05-22 21:44 ]

Posted by Deltayoda
Well, it seems safe, so probably no need to panic


Posted by arroyootje
Thanks guys... it's been shipped, now I'm waiting for snail-express FedEx to deliver my headset!!!



Posted by kolokoy
i used it when i purchased some stuff from ebay..guess its safe...

Posted by mhorton
I have never had any problems with buying online.

Posted by thami
guys im selliing my p900 at amazon is there any scams i must look out for or payment type that i must aviod ?

Posted by thami
NO its not safe There is a 50/50 chance you wont find your money next time you log on if im correct


Click to view updated thread with images


© Esato.com - From the Esato mobile phone discussion forum