Posted by mustu
guy can you give you comments...
www.sixteen2sixty.com
thanks
Posted by maggflodd
On 2007-04-15 06:01:03, mustu wrote:
guy can you give you comments...
http://www.sixteen2sixty.com
thanks
Posted by Xugaa
"Sixteen2Sixty.com is a women’s classifieds website across various cities of the country. The idea is to provide a platform for a woman to connect with other women in her area and city to buy, sell or barter absolutely anything. Women can sell their cell phones or advertise their business, find a job or a PG accommodation. All this and much more for free without the use of any credit cards."
Is this your own website we're looking at? I'm not a woman but I love the design and the whole idea/aim of the website, looks great!
Posted by oneofthose
xugaa, you're right - however, maggflodd's question is valid, and calls for a reply! there is reason to suspect, the post is by a man getting a strange "load of laughs" out of the very concept that women should have such a site - that'd mean it's a sexist post/thread. Now, esato rightly doesn't allow racist or homophobic posts... so what IF I started a "funny" thread linking to an african-american or muslim-webcommunity, saying, 'look, now those "t#welh#ads/ni**ers have websites"... see, I'd rightly be punished for racism! therefor, if the post is by a woman linking to that nice and useful site - that's brilliant... but I share the sneaking suspicion it could've been meant as a "joke" at the women's cost.
I'd really just like to know because the original post is (maybe innocently so...) slightly ambiguous...
but I may well be overreacting...a simple reply by the original poster will clear this one !!!
have a nice weekend
Posted by maggflodd
@mustu...
Sorry, "oneofthose" explained quite well what I was on about...if you're a man the "lol" in the topic header etc seem slightly "nasty-ish".If you think I'm overreacting, I state for the record: there are quite a few posts on this forum that are sexist to a degree and in a sneaky way THAT were they "racist" in the same way, the posters would be rightly barred ... In short: I'm just not willing to accept any degree of sexism/racism/stupidism...
But back to your post: it looks like a great site...very well done!!!
Posted by london-uk
Don't want to get involved with the above, but some of the postings on that site are friggin surreal!!! One ad, for a flat to let, states: No vegetarians, Ironing not allowed, and no Muslims. Guess they don't have the same anti-discriminatory laws that we have. I know religion etc are always covered, but never thought one could be discriminated against for ironing!!!
Posted by oneofthose
On 2007-04-16 01:18:58, london-uk wrote:
Don't want to get involved with the above, but some of the postings on that site are friggin surreal!!! One ad, for a flat to let, states: No vegetarians, Ironing not allowed, and no Muslims. Guess they don't have the same anti-discriminatory laws that we have. I know religion etc are always covered, but never thought one could be discriminated against for ironing!!!
Posted by Xugaa
On 2007-04-16 01:18:58, london-uk wrote:
Don't want to get involved with the above, but some of the postings on that site are friggin surreal!!! One ad, for a flat to let, states: No vegetarians, Ironing not allowed, and no Muslims. Guess they don't have the same anti-discriminatory laws that we have. I know religion etc are always covered, but never thought one could be discriminated against for ironing!!!
No vegetarian's? Wow, and this is in India right...?
Lol, no ironing... o_O
[ This Message was edited by: Xugaa on 2007-04-16 16:37 ]
Posted by london-uk
@ oneofthose
I wasn't trying to discredit the site, I was merely pointing out what I thought was an amusing/strange ad.
Posted by maggflodd
On 2007-04-16 17:40:23, london-uk wrote:
@ oneofthose
I wasn't trying to discredit the site, I was merely pointing out what I thought was an amusing/strange ad.
Don't think that is what s/he, that is oneofthose, implied - maybe, but it's clearly more aimed at mustu WHO started this and is now very "quiet"???
I mean., really - there are stupid ads/posts/etc everywhere...hardly worth another thread! The only interesting aspect about the site still remains mustu's motive! Genuinely pointing us to a good site OR male chauvinist mockery??? My personal jury is still out...
Posted by mustu
yes its a part of what i do.For I and the co - founder
Posted by maggflodd
On 2007-04-17 20:52:38, mustu wrote:
yes its a part of what i do.For I and the co - founder
So, apologies