Posted by Miss UK
Basically Selling this (View link)
http://birmingham.gumtree.com/birmingham/06/8422006.html
now ive had a few responses but im very unsure bout this particular one heres the E-Mail
Am interested for dis loving item u have, it still available? if it is am offer 30gbp and extra 10gbp for internatoinal postage via royalmail(post office)I will be sending total of 40pound via paypal or bank looking foward to hear frm you(cheers)
Grace Queens
What would you people do Dump it or deal?
tbh never shipped anything abroad before,
and ive heard stories of people demanding there cash back from PayPal and leaving the sellers outta pocket but I dunno lol
bit confused what to do
Posted by barrierfreem
They wrote 'dis' instead of 'this'. I would not deal with them on general principle.
If your not sure about this interested party then just ignore their offer. If i was in your shoes i know i would. If it looks dodgy it probably is.
[ This Message was edited by: barrierfreem on 2007-03-10 18:25 ]
Posted by Miss UK
Yeah seems its some Yardie spelling
I have emailed the person back asking where she's from i'll stick the next email in here when i get a response
Posted by arien617
Their English is broken but the name Grace Queens sounds like an English, American person etc.
Looks dodgy if you ask me.
Posted by Dogmann
Hi Miss UK,
Simple answer is if you send anything to a non confirmed and verified Pay Pal address even with proof of sending they can reclaim the money from Pay Pal and you lose. Sending items abroad is even more risky but again requires a confirmed address and verified Pay Pal account with tracked and signed for postage. My advice is simple if in doubt just don't do it.
Marc
[ This Message was edited by: Dogmann on 2007-03-10 20:13 ]
Posted by fatreg
if your not happy with it miss uk its prolly dodgy!
fatreg
Posted by *Jojo*
@miss UK - There's a saying in the MILITARY . . . 'When in DOUBT - KILL!' But here I guess it's appropriate to SAY that: 'When in DOUBT . . . - never mind' .
Posted by Sammy_boy
It's ringing a few alarm bells for me too, I suspect it is some kind of scam, sounds dodgy!
I've fallen foul of shipping something to someone who hadn't confirmed their address with Paypal, they did a chargeback on me a few months later, and I lost purely because I'd shipped to that unconfirmed address. I'm more careful now!
Posted by Marly
Wouldn't do it, if I were you.
The fact, that the buyer talks about the "item", instead of "phone" or "Nokia" makes me think of the emails, we get from those friendly people, who want to pay us a large amount of money, to ship the "item" to their 80-year old aunt in Nigeria
Also, she's willing to pay the asking price, this seems abit dodgy, on older phones, people usually bid a lot lower.
Posted by arien617
On 2007-03-10 19:14:59, miss uk wrote:
Am interested for dis loving item u have, it still available? if it is am offer 30gbp and extra 10gbp for internatoinal postage via royalmail(post office)I will be sending total of 40pound via paypal or bank looking foward to hear frm you(cheers)
Grace Queens
Wtf's a loving item ?!?
Posted by fatreg
a 6610i at a guess!
fatreg
Posted by arien617
@fatreg
Oh, looks like someones calling me, I fink I'll answer on dis loving item.
Posted by garlic_bread
sorry read the thread wrong . oooops
[ This Message was edited by: garlic_bread on 2007-03-11 22:05 ]
Posted by Miss UK
Re: Your Gumtree Birmingham ad #8422006: NOKIA 6610i Plus Extras!
Hi, am posting it to my cousin as a birth day gift in africa contact me asap
Best Regard
Grace
Anyone got a good reply I should send back?
Ps, What is it with all these Emails lately about winning the lottery has anyone got these saying they've gone through a random national sweepstake and your email has been selected? to get your money you must reply back with yout name and address
Keep getting dozens of them what about you folks
_________________
Does it L00k like a Brick
[ This Message was edited by: miss uk on 2007-03-11 23:43 ]
Posted by *Jojo*
@miss uk - THEY are in ABUNDANCE my dear
Posted by tantrik
As far as i am concerned, i wouldn't have done either.
Posted by Miss UK
think i'll just delete the E-mail or not unless someone wants to play along with this person for the fun of it please type up a good reply for me to get back to them
Posted by *Jojo*
@miss uk - Why don't you inter-connect this very MAIL with those you are receiving coming from Nigeria
Posted by Residentevil
Posted by arien617
i got an e-mail a while back from a man in Singapore saying an alleged multi-millionaire relative of mine has died and if I send them $5000 for legal reasons and other costs I'll be invited to Singapore to collect my share of US $100,000,000... I also got a letter in the post two days later with the exact text, creepy eh. I don't think there is a person on Earth with the same surname as mine.
_________________
Ham and Eggs: A day's work for a chicken; A lifetime commitment for a pig.
810i[ This Message was edited by: arien617 on 2007-03-13 17:17 ]