Welcome to Esato.com




ebay scam? beware

Click to view updated thread with images


Posted by solidsingh
i received an email from an ebay member this morning called davejohnwalker

in the email it said ::
Please let me know if you got the payment for the product order from you .I sent you the payment(US $3,150.00) with 2 weeks ago but you still don't respond to my emails.Please don't scam me!!!I sold my old product to buy this one for my job.I don't have money for another one and if i don't get the camera from you i will lost my job.Once again PLEASE DON'T SCAM ME!!!I have a family and if i don't get the camera we will be down!!!
Mike Cohen

I have no idea who he is and what hes on about but he seems pretty certain ive scammed him from the text above

his name at the bottom of the email doesnt match his ebay ID

I clicked the respond button and it takes me to a page where you enter user and pass

I clicked it and the link was http://www.ebayloginiinfo.5gi[....]e=222&pa1=&i1=-1&UsingSSL.html

im pretty sure that aint the proper link - i think its trying to nick your password

so i tried typing in a fake pass and it rejected it

so then i tried logging into ebay on ebay.co.uk and i checked my messages in box but his message aint there but all the others are that i received today

i think this is a scam but maybe im wrong?
jus thought i would let you lot know to make sure you dont fall for it


Posted by 50Cent
yep its a scam.. well spotted

http://www.ebayloginiinfo. BBCode Start -->5gigs.com/signin


http://www.5gigs.com/
is a free website hosting company... dont think Ebay would be using that...

Defintaely trying to steal your details!!

Rgds
50

Posted by m100
I get those all the time.You should look at the address on the link.

Posted by lamont
i got a similar email about 6 months ago but it was an end of auction email saying i had spent $1,125 on sex toys, had the same look as an ebay email and had a login link which also looked the same as ebays.

Posted by Cycovision
I had two of them last week. The best thing is, I'm not even a registered ebay member, I've never bought or sold anything on ebay in my life

Posted by lamont
i wasnt eitehr at the time i got the email, i was temp suspended lol

Posted by stevemiddie
they are scams. I have had maybe 3-4 in the last 2 weeks. I do not even touch the links in case of virus.

Posted by haynesycop
i got an email similar to that, apparently i did not pay for a panasonic dvd player and surround sound system from a usa seller on ebay!

Fisrt i have heard

Posted by Sammy_boy
There are now a few variations on that 'login' scam. I got one recently supposedly from Ebay saying that a listing I had for an Xbox and 15 games had been cancelled as it broke Ebay rules on chipping and modding. I've never in my life owned an Xbox, let alone be selling one! Hovering the mouse over the clickable link in the email would have sent me to some address in Romania.


Click to view updated thread with images


© Esato.com - From the Esato mobile phone discussion forum